Players’ POTY

This season’s Raith Rovers Player of the Year Awards ceremony took place on Saturday night at a packed Dean Park Hotel in Kirkcaldy.

Hosted by the BBC’s Brian McLauchlin, over 100 supporters from all of the supporters groups were joined by the Raith Rovers playing squad, management, directors & office team.

After the squad were given a rapturous applause as they entered the suite, Brian hosted the awards and these were presented by the sponsors of each award. Over 600 supporters had already cast their votes for the supporters player of the year, and on the night, supporters were able to vote for this year’s Goal of the Season.

Unsurprisingly, Kevin Nisbet had a very productive evening and walked away with 4 awards (Players’, Managers and Supporters’ Player of the Year and also the Fife Free Press Star Check Award)

Despite his limited playing time due to injuries this season, Lewis Vaughan collected 2 awards for Goal of the Season for his second goal v Dunfermline and also was the winner of the new category, Best Individual Performance of the Season – also for his match winning performance and hat trick in the cup game against the pars.

There were also awards for young players, Kieron Bowie and Jack Smith who picked up the Managers Young Player of the Year and the Malcolm Szpera award respectively.

(Full list of winners below the gallery)

In addition to this, there was also a well deserved standing ovation for the volunteers who dedicate so much time and energy through the season to help Raith Rovers in a whole variety of ways.

After the awards, there was the raffle and auction which raised further funds for the club.

And there was one further surprise before the band came on, when supporter Ben bravely took the mic and asked partner Liam to marry him. Without any hesitation, he said yes!

Popular local band State of Emergency then took to the stage for the remainder of the evening, filling the dance floor until the early hours.

Huge thanks to all who helped make the event happen: the players and management team, everyone behind the scenes at Raith Rovers, the supporters, the sponsors and the organising committee of Steve Wallace, Margie Robertson, Neil Ingebrigtsen, Jen Ogg and Gordon Adamson.

Photos by Walter Neilson and Lesley Fleming

The full list of winners is as follows…

Young Player of the Year: Kieron Bowie
Sponsored by the 200 Club

Malcolm Szpera Award: Jack Smith
Sponsored by Rovers Down South

Goal of the Season: Lewis Vaughan v Dunfermline (2nd goal)
Sponsored by the Raith Trust

Fife Free Press Star Check Award: Kevin Nisbet
Sponsored by the Fife Free Press

Manager’s Player of the Year: Kevin Nisbet
Sponsored by the RRFC Hall of Fame

Supporters’ Player of the Year: Kevin Nisbet
Sponsored by the RRFC Supporters Club

Best Individual Performance: Lewis Vaughan v Dunfermline
Sponsored by Fife’s Finest

Players’ Player of the Year: Kevin Nisbet
Sponsored by the Jim McMillan Club

Back to News