The SPFL has confirmed the seeding pots for tomorrow’s 2024/25 Premier Sports Cup group stage draw.

The draw – which takes place tomorrow, Wednesday May 29, at 1.00pm – will be made available on the Premier Sports YouTube channel and Premier Sports X/Twitter page.

Viewers can also watch it on the SPFL YouTube channel.

With five SPFL clubs again taking part in UEFA competitions next season, the group stage draw will involve the remaining 37 SPFL clubs from 2023/24, plus Highland League champions Buckie Thistle and Lowland League champions East Kilbride. The third additional
place for 2024/25 will be taken by Highland League runners-up Brechin City.

As has been the case for the previous two seasons, there is no regionalised aspect to the group stage draw. The 40 participating clubs will be split into five seeding pots based on final league placings in season 2023/24. One club from each pot will be drawn into the eight
Groups A-H.

The 2024/25 Premier Sports Cup begins on the weekend of July 13/14, with further group stage matchdays on July 16/17, July 20/21, July 23/24 and July 27/28.

The eight group winners and three best runners-up will join European entrants Celtic, Rangers, Heart of Midlothian, Kilmarnock and St Mirren in the last 16 on the weekend of August 17/18. Due to the increased number of UEFA midweek dates, the quarter-finals will be played on the weekend of September 21/22. The semi-finals are scheduled for the weekend of November 2/3 and the final will take place on Sunday December 15.

The SPFL last week announced record prize and TV money of over £3.5 million for the 2024/25 Premier Sports Cup – an increase of 14% on the 2023/24 competition. Next season’s Premier Sports Cup winners will receive £400,000, while each participating club is guaranteed to receive at least £30,000.

Seeding Pots and Club Numbers:

Pot 1
1 Dundee
2 Aberdeen
3 Hibernian
4 Motherwell
5 St Johnstone
6 Ross County
7 Livingston
8 Dundee United

Pot 2
9 Raith Rovers
10 Partick Thistle
11 Airdrieonians
12 Greenock Morton
13 Dunfermline Athletic
14 Ayr United
15 Queen’s Park
16 Inverness Caledonian Thistle

Pot 3
17 Arbroath
18 Falkirk
19 Hamilton Academical
20 Alloa Athletic
21 Montrose
22 Cove Rangers
23 Kelty Hearts
24 Queen of the South

Pot 4
25 Annan Athletic
26 Stirling Albion
27 Edinburgh City
28 Stenhousemuir
29 Peterhead
30 The Spartans
31 Dumbarton
32 East Fife

Pot 5
33 Forfar Athletic
34 Elgin City
35 Bonnyrigg Rose
36 Clyde
37 Stranraer
38 East Kilbride
39 Buckie Thistle
40 Brechin City

Premier Sports Cup Dates 2024/25

Group Stage

MD1: Weekend of July 13/14, 2024
MD2: Midweek of July 16/17, 2024
MD3: Weekend of July 20/21, 2024
MD4: Midweek of July 23/24, 2024
MD5: Weekend of July 27/28, 2024

Second Round
Weekend of August 17/18, 2024

Weekend of September 21/22, 2024


Weekend of November 2/3, 2024


Sunday December 15, 2024

Back to News